“You can’t just put HE MAN in TRANSFORMER’S world. All right?

He wouldn’t be able to get to Cybertron because he lives in Eternia and Eternia is in an entirely different dimension!” -Stewie from Family Guy

Anyways, I just thought I’d throw that in there because what better way to start any speech or essay than with a historic quote! Yeah…I thought it was pretty awesome too. It really speaks to me, you know? Stewie is stopping Brian’s second imagination from coming into play to achieve a whole new level of thought processes and ideas. Stewie is stuck in a paradox in which he envisions the creation of activities and events within the Transformer world but by being so focused on technicalities he is unable to expand beyond what SHOULD be into further exploring the possibilities of what COULD be. Who is Stewie to say that He Man could not learn how to fly or indeed, as Brian puts it, get on a rocket to visit his fellow crime fighting heroes in a new and unexplored part of the dimension? Maybe this new wave of thinking initiated by Brian’s want to be included can lead to the deconstruction of what makes up a super hero in order to rebuild an even greater protagonist that is able to span several aspects of both time and space in relation to their surroundings. By not involving Brian in this children’s activity meant to spurt creativity and mental awareness, Stewie has not only stunted his own potential growth but also the potential growth that could have developed through such interactions.

Am I being serious? Who knows…Maybe this should blog should be called the “Ramblings of an English Major” but then I don’t think anyone would read it. *shrug*

Anyways, my mother had her friends over last night and no it was not to watch the Super Bowl. Although that would have been really cool if they WERE here to watch it. But I don’t know if any of the TVs in the house work too well. I haven’t watched TV in forever! But, getting back to the point, one of her friends brought some cookies for me! They’re actually pretty good. And who couldn’t love cookies tied in Lakers colors. Ugh Lakers…I’ll talk about that later…

Actually, I’m going to talk about it now. I even wore my “Boston Sucks” shirt today…but I guess it wasn’t enough to help them…

Mike Brown got suspended for a game for his little fiasco during the Jazz game, maybe that will makes things better. We can only hope right? I knew it was going to be a good game when I saw they’d be playing the 76ers but I didn’t want them to lose… I had class when the game was on so I had to keep up with the play by plays that I could get on my phone. They were so close the entire game. The whole time I was on it they were only 1-3 points apart. The game stats aren’t even that impressive. This has to be one of Iguodala’s lower scoring games AND WE STILL LOST. But in all fairness it was a low scoring game in general for everyone. Ugh…There were some other good games tonight. Knicks beat the Jazz and the Clippers had a very close game with the Magic but ended up coming ahead by 5 points. The Thunder vs Trailblazers game has been pretty intense too. It’s still anyone’s game. But you have my support KD! You can do this! But KD come on…FGM-A 9-17 is not okay. We’ll see how it ends up panning out later on. And before I move on to another topic…what was with the Heat’s jersey last night?

Do we really need 5 colors on a jersey? Let alone an asymmetrical design? AND they’re selling them on NBA.com. Here’s what the stock photo looks like:

Can you say ‘EW’?

1. The number and writing on the front and back are off center.

2. The colors include: Red, Black, White, Pink and Orange. It’s like a defective unicorn threw up on a blank sports jersey. What do the last two colors have to do with the heat? Degrees of colors leading up to how hot a flame gets? Makes for a dramatic picture that’s for sure.

3. Pink really? Good luck trying to sell these to your target market.

4. What is with the font on the front? I know teams can pick or choose when they want to put the city name and the team’s name but this looks like something out of Ken’s Spring Catalogue while he shops for clothes while Barbie is out being an independent woman.

5. Is it just me or did Adidas purposely make it look sort of like a soccer jersey? Can someone say Product Placement?

6. What happened to simplicity? Whoever designed this jersey has either been transferred over from another sports department or the recession along with the lockout has really been hitting both Adidas and the NBA so hard that they’ve outsourced their work to interns who are forced to scribble jersey ideas in between coffee runs for the rest of the office. (*Intern idea thanks to Mark, credit where credit is due*)

Oh well. I can just buy an All Star Jersey (which also lacks any new creative ingenuity) but I guess some things really can’t be helped. I’ll complain about it another time I guess. OH BUT those new Black on Black jerseys that have been coming out are pretty sweet. I’ll write my review about them next time. Don’t want to overload anyone with too much new sensory information.

And before I forget, Amare’s brother was killed in a car accident this morning so keep him in your thoughts? I guess it’s good the Knicks won a game today then right?

Moving onto a new topic, I ordered all my transcripts so I can transfer school starting next fall. Everything seemed to work out smooth so hopefully it will just stay that way. Yay for being productive! We also did some explication work in class today. There were some pretty good lines from Richard III to be honest. The class helped a lot because I have an explication due tomorrow on Madame Bovary. It’ll be a piece of cake though. My other class went well too. I ended up getting an A on the paper I had written on Plato and Aristotle which I’m happy about and I managed to pay attention in class while checking NBA score updates on my phone. Yay for multitasking!

But enough about school…it’s car time! My bestest buddy Jack and I always swap pictures of cars that we see throughout the day and guess what he sent me today? It has to be only my 3rd favorite car at this point in time…that’s right! You guessed it! A Volvo 1800S! (Actually my favorite is a Volvo p1800 but it’s close enough). And it’s from 1967 too…*drool*

God look at it! It’s in PRISTINE condition too! This is BY FAR the only cool car Volvo has ever made or will ever make. The person who owns this car has obviously taken care of it like it’s their own kid. Makes me so happy to see vintage cars in top shape. It gives me hope! We’re not dying out…soon you can see me in one of these. True I’ll have to get used to the 4 cylinder engine and the manual transmission but it’s all worth it for a beauty like this one.

What did Roger Moore drive on “The Saint” before he ever became James Bond? One of these bad boys, that’s right. In the TV Series he was seen sporting this bad ass baby. Forget about the Aston Martin DB5, it’s all about the 1800S! (*And again photo credits to Jack, I’m going to miss you!!*)

And while I’m on the subject, Jack, I hope you have a wonderful time on your trip! If you see any strange and/or exotic cars you know that I expect pictures when you get back! Don’t die!! I won’t miss the Vegan food but I sure as hell will miss you! And our amazing conversations about the aesthetic values of cars. Have fun!!

Now that I have spent a substantial part of my night writing and completing this blog entry, I think it’s time for me to actually attend to things that desperately need my attention. Bye until next time!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““You can’t just put HE MAN in TRANSFORMER’S world. All right?

  1. Amanda says:

    According to my 6 year old: men in arms (gringered) could create a teleport to send He Man to Cybertron. Thus, the two can exist in the same world. Pardon the spelling as again this information came from my 6 year old after I read him your blog. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

