That’s right it’s GYM TIME! You know what that means…

More car pictures!

But before I get into that I have to thank Mark for the early Valentines Day present he has sent me.

I only wear weapon jewelry so it’s perfect! Now I have a sword to add to my collection! Muhahaha! I absolutely adore it! And it’s actually pretty sharp if anyone tries anything on me. I’ll just be like “Hi-Yah!” and then I’ll stab them with my sword necklace. Death by necklace. It’d make for a good SVU episode that’s for sure.

But back to the subject of cars. Jack sent me an edited picture of the Volvo 1800S he saw yesterday:

Just gorgeous isn’t it? That’s what I’M saving my money for. Mmhm! I’ll have you someday!!! A girl can dream can’t she?

But the main part of going to the gym that I look forward to is seeing all the nice cars in the parking lot. Who would’ve thought a Golds Gym parking lot would be packed full of Porsche 912’s and tons of different Ferraris. I guess that’s why my membership is so god damn expensive? Haha. (*Thanks Mark for that*) But nothing too crazy in the parking lot today. Just a lot of classics that I love seeing day to day. I guess today can be my tribute to classic Mercedes throughout the ages. I’ll be a MB girl for life. I can’t help these things…you can blame my mother.

Mercedes Benz 550 SEL – Late 1970s

Mercedes Benz CL55 AMG – 2001-2003

Mercedes Benz C36 AMG – 1993-1997

But I guess this wouldn’t be a very meaningful blog if it were just filled with pictures so I guess I can teach everyone a little something as well. I’m sure a lot of people see Mercedes Benz AMG’s speeding about on their local streets and aren’t really sure what they’re all about so here goes.

AMG stands for Aufrecht, Melcher and Großaspach

*Aufrecht after former Mercedes engineer Hans Werner Aufrecht

*Melcher after other partner and also former Mercedes engineer Erhard Melcher

*Großaspach which was the name of Aufrecht’s birthplace

AMG was founded by Aufrecht and Melcher in 1967 and it was meant to be a racing engine forge, meaning that they were in the business to create high performance engines that could be used for racing. The popularity of the AMG engines rose as people sought out their products to enhance their own cars. Because of growing demand DaimlerChrysler thought it about time to sign a deal with Aufrecht so they could work together to build a line of high performance vehicles for Mercedes Benz. Melcher had stopped being a partner by this time. But as things go DaimlerChrysler owned a majority of shares while still doing business with Aufrecht and by 2005 Aufrecht had sold all of his shares over to DaimlerChrysler making the AMG subsidiary wholly owned by DaimlerChrysler. They still make racing engines in Germany under the name HWA which stands for Aufrecht’s initials. In the market today the AMG models of Mercedes Benz, excluding the more expensive non-AMG V12 models, are the most expensive, highest performing, best handling and most stable of all of the cars offered by Daimler-Benz.

As for the SEL class, up until 1993 Mercedes Benz was using numbers and then letters to signify design and specifications of the car but with the introduction of the C-Class the order had been reversed. What used to be SEL, which were the long-wheelbase models, and the SE, which were the regular-length models, Mercedes had decided to put them all under the single letter S which is what we see today.

Hope someone got something out of that. Yay for learning! Especially about cars!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

