Who would your NBA 2012 All Star Western Center pick be?

Yes I am a Laker fan for life but is it just me who thinks we could have chosen someone else besides Bynum? I mean I know Al Jefferson hasn’t been having the BEST season exactly. But I guess a lot of the good centers are all on the Eastern side. The Gasol brothers? LaMarcus Aldridge? Maybe? If anyone has any comments on that I’d like to hear.

While we’re on the topic of NBA All Star Starters, Mark thought they could have chosen a better small forward for the East but I actually think Carmelo deserved the spot, to be honest. IT IS NOT HIS FAULT THE KNICKS SUCK THIS YEAR AND THAT THE NUGGETS ARE BETTER. (*Mark you do not know what you are talking about*) Anyways, if it weren’t Carmelo I guess it’d have to be Paul Pierce or Danny Granger. Don’t you think? C’mon. Who doesn’t like Carmelo Anthony? Haha. I guess we’ll see what happens when they announce the reserve players for this year. Hopefully they’ll do it soon since the games are about 2 or so weeks ago.

And since I said I would do it, here it comes.

Critique of the 2012 NBA All Star Jerseys

Is it just me or does it look like those jerseys should be part of a Dentyne Ice Commercial? Where Lebron and Kobe are fighting bad breath and their jerseys are all dirty and worn out and with just one piece of Dentyne Ice both of them go flying through the air only to have monstrous Slam Dunks and right when the ball hits the rim their jerseys break out in crystallization like they’re both heating up and cooling down at the same time. Product Placement! That’s how I think they look anyways. Where do I start on the font? It’s like we’re all watching star tours at Disneyland and the letters just spread through centuries and galaxies, up down side to side. Not to mention the stars do the same thing. What is up with that by the way? Fact: Stars do not look cooler at an angle. And what is up with the design inside the numbers? Do we really need to see NBA home court tiling in the middle of the numbers? Someone just thought a wood plank design in natural wood and silver was just so magical apparently. AND WHY DO THEY ALWAYS DO THE THING WHERE THE PLAYERS NAMES AREN’T EVEN IN THE SAME FONT?! What is the point of that? Too lazy? I mean you knew which name was going with which number when you manufactured it. Are people not going to be able to read slanted futuristic font when it comes to the player name? Or is spending that extra 2 minutes putting ‘Durant’ into a computer generated font maker WAY too hard for some people. It must be that same intern that designed that Miami Jersey I was talking about yesterday.

Then what IS the best NBA All Star Jersey design? Well thanks for asking. I’d say 2009 was my favorite.

Granted it’s not PERFECT but it’s better than the stuff they’ll be wearing this year. It’s clean, simple and memorable. I’m divided on how I feel about the flame stars on the pants but overall it is what the NBA All Star Jersey should be like.  Not sure why they used a slight variation from the font for EAST and WEST but who knows. I bet there’s just one MUST that has to be on all All Star jerseys and it’s that futuristic font they use. Do the designers that people will stop buying them if they stop using a certain type of font? Or that it instills memories and a certain type of feeling within people? *shrug* One thing that I CAN agree on is that I’m glad we’re past this:

Do you remember these? 2005/2006 All Star Jerseys…I’m just glad we’ve come so far since then. Haha.

Have a different favorite year? I could go over the pros and cons of every year but I think that’d be too much. I don’t know if I want to dish out $60+ for a jersey that I don’t think is designed well. The price you pay to be a fan right? I guess that was my little rant for now.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Who would your NBA 2012 All Star Western Center pick be?

  1. I couldn’t agree more about the 2012 jersey, very odd choice in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

