I swear I’m still alive!

I’m REALLY SORRY I’ve been MIA. I’ve been writing papers for school or reading or watching the Bachelor. SO BUSY! You know there have been a lot of people writing about Courtney Robertson and warning Ben Flajnik about her and I had an epiphany in class today while we were reading Antony and Cleopatra. Stay with me now…

Mark Antony = Ben Flajnik

Cleopatra = Courtney Robertson

Enobarbus = Chris Harrison
(I almost typed Chris Hanson, like we’re watching “To Catch A Predator”, although this show comes close enough sometimes…)

Antony has to keep questioning Cleopatra’s love for him when in reality she’s just an actress. Sure Enobarbus tells Antony that she has real feelings for him but she’s always putting on an act and no one is ever sure of what her TRUE motives are. Hmmm. I thought it was relevant anyways.

Some kid compared the description of Cleopatra to Cher, which I think is TOTALLY inaccurate. Cher is just scary as fuck. Gabriele described Cher as “preserved”. Hahaha. Everyone in the class had a good laugh. Well just in case anyone is wondering what the passage is here it is:

Age cannot wither her, nor custom stale
Her infinite variety: other women cloy
The appetites they feed, but she makes hungry
Where most she satisfies. For vilest things
Become themselves in her, that the holy priests
Bless her when she is riggish.

-Antony and Cleopatra by Shakespeare
Act 2.2 L236-241

I think that’s a more than accurate description of how Ben see’s Courtney. Don’t you think?

Anyways, NBA TIME!

Lakers won against the Hawks yesterday. Wish I could’ve gone but I guess my education is more important. Lin is still on a role. But it was a close call yesterday, even with Amare playing it could’ve been game over for the Knicks because of Calderon and DeRozan. The Raptors had it down until the 4th quarter hit. I seriously thought I made the wrong call dismissing the Raptors but Lin brought it with 27 points and Amare made 21 points. Lin also had 11 assists. Warrior fans must be kicking themselves. Ah~ SUCKS TO BE YOU! That’s what happens when you ignore Asian talent! Hahaha I’m just kidding.

So yeah, 13 games tonight. A lot of really close games, except for the Kings vs Knicks which is just pretty sad. And the Bobcats are doing better than the Twolves? What? I knew my blog entry would motivate you guys! Beat those midwest good for nothings! (*Just for you Mark*) Hahaha.

And a big question to those of you who read this (and follow the NBA):
What are your thoughts on J.R. Smith? Is he just teasin’ all the teams?
It seems like EVERYONE wants a piece of him. I’ve heard rumors that the Lakers, Magic, Clippers and even the Twolves want him. Mark told me the Twolves have the most money to offer him but does anyone REALLY want to play for the Timberwolves? *shrug* I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Maybe if Kobe doesn’t scare him away the Lakers could get JR Smith. Did you really have to be mean to Dwight Howard? Who calls DH the “Tyson Chandler” of the Lakers? That man is unbelievable sometimes…

And the Rockets are leading against the Thunder? The rain in California must be throwing everyone off their game. Hahaha. YOU NEVER KNOW!

I really do hate the rain though. It just makes me so depressed and all I want to do is sit in front of my heater and watch Law and Order: SVU. Hahaha. Or curl up with a good book. Either or.

I’ll write another entry on cars…OH BUT, what do I always say? Can’t have a blog entry where you don’t learn something new so here it goes.

So whenever we hear the word “Cleopatra” we always think of this:

OR

Someone who looks like Angelina Jolie.

BUT in reality she WAS NOT at all pretty or statuesque as everyone claims her to be. She also had several brothers and sisters and she was NOT the only daughter named “Cleopatra”. Back in the old days they didn’t wait generations to use the same name. So one of Cleopatra’s older sisters was Cleopatra the 5th and the one we all know and love today is the 6th. It gets even weirder. Her family, who were descendants of Alexander the Great, inbred to keep power in the family. Meaning, the brothers would marry the sisters and so on but researchers believed there HAD to have been extra marital affairs because otherwise the offspring of related siblings would have eventually become sterile. Most kids are also born with defects and deformities as well. Gross right? So before all of her great lovers she was married to her younger brother. Yuck. If you want to know the full story you can always look it up.

Even though her family had been rulers of Egypt for quite a while Cleopatra was the first in her family to actually LEARN Egyptian. (She also knew 9 other languages). Pretty smart eh?

Don’t want to bore anyone too much. Hope you learned something!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I swear I’m still alive!

  1. I always think of Elizabeth Taylor… never Angelina or someone who looks like Angelina… haha!

  2. FrankC says:

    JR to the Knicks. boo!

Leave a Reply

