C is for Corvette

A view from our hotel room in Waikiki.

I actually haven’t been to the beach yet because well…I don’t really care for the beach. It is what it is.

I bought Silent Hill (The old one) to play but…it freaked the shit out of me early on so….I’m going to return it. Yup. I’m a big ol’ chicken.

But I’ve been watching Mark play Saints Row the Third and I have to say it’s pretty entertaining. He even made a character after me. She looked pretty strange though…her cheekbones were a little too high…but her Russian accent made up for everything.

I also like identifying every car that the cars in the game are modeled after. Most are weird hybrid versions of cars like half Jaguar and half Mitsubishi or half Bentley and half Chrysler. Hahaha. Mark’s been pretty comfy in his wannabe CTS or otherwise known as the “Sovereign”. Pretty close to the original though.

And all the gangsters drive the Rolls Royce and Bentley knock offs.

But that’s not why I’m writing this blog. I started this entry because I saw a classic beauty in the parking lot the other day. Any guess as to what it is?

….

Yup! That’s right! A classic 1973 Corvette!

Sorry for the awkward shots. There were cars on either side so I couldn’t take a better picture. Ugh you should have seen the paint job and those seats! God! They were to die for!

The Chevrolet Corvette or also known as the Chevy Corvette Stingray Coupe (C3) was designed to break away from the C2. It still used the same chassis but the interior and exterior were brand new designs.

And for those of you who are curious here is some background information on the Corvette.

The Corvette is made by Chevrolet which is a division of General Motors and it has been in production for 6 six generations now. The first prototype was a concept car that was debuted in 1953 at the GM Motorama. And I’m sure for those of you who have read my previous posts they will already know that the name “Corvette” comes from a small warship that they used to use in World War II. The warship has been around since the 1650s but the modern Corvette warship that we know now was designed during WWII.

And I’m sure most of you already know but the Corvette is also called the Stingray.

The Corvette that I saw on the street is a 3rd generation Corvette and it was modeled after the concept car the Mako Shark II which was designed by Larry Shinoda in 1961.

I actually really like the naming of cars using an aquatic theme. It not only keeps with the sea theme that the name “Corvette” brings to the table but it also sets these cars apart from the other cars that just name their automobiles after big cats.

Mark was part of a group survey one time and when they asked what they would like their dream car to be named after almost everyone responded that they wanted it named after a big fast cat. Weird huh? I rather have a Shark than a Cougar anyday. UGH MERCURY COUGAR! Gross…

wait I take that back. I’d take a muscle car classic Cougar…BUT only if I couldn’t get my hands on a Shark or a Stingray.

I mean, throughout the years there have been slight changes and improvements to the design along the way but by only changing what is necessary (under the hood & technological advances) the Corvette keeps the feel of being a classic. Chevrolet isn’t afraid to change with the times which is great for both newer and older customers but by maintaining the same body shape and style it makes the car more relatable to a number of generations which helps Chevy keep a steady flow of customers as their business grows.

There’s a reason the Corvette is called the “Mid-Life Crisis Car”. It’s a car that people dream of owning, it doesn’t have to be specific to a certain generation of Corvette or even body style. Corvette just possesses this hold on customers by offering them something old and familiar yet something new to them  to experience. The feeling of driving a Corvette or riding in a Corvette sometimes gives people the same thrill as seeing another one on the road. It’s that connection that Americans feel to an all around classic. This pull to an immediate relief of stress and worry which is replaced by adventures and speed draws customers from all age groups to indulge in the Corvette. And that is why it has done so well for so many generations. There are so many cars that have never survived past the 50s and 60s but the Corvette has proved time after time that there is something to be said about their way of design and marketing. I can only imagine what they will be like in another 60 years.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “C is for Corvette

  1. Maxxy says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Corvettes. I have to say though that the C6 has lost a lot of its charm. But the 70’s designs are just SOOOOOO Cool. Gonna have to have me one some day…..

  2. thekevinchen says:

    There is no sexual innuendo for shark, so cougar wins. 😛

    Nice catch on the vette; she’s purty.

Leave a Reply

