Ferrari 250

Look at this gorgeous Ferrari we saw at Jack in the Box when we went to go get a quick breakfast.

It’s a 1962 Ferrari 250 GT SWB Berlinetta Scaglietti. God isn’t it gorgeous?

Who thought I would find one in the streets of Honolulu.

Oh, did I also mention that I live next to all the luxury car dealerships? So every walk around the neighborhood is filled with Lamborghini’s and BMWs a plenty. Yum Yum!

Here’s a full picture of the Ferrari since you can’t really tell from just the picture of the back end.

And since I haven’t had the opportunity to write about cars I thought this would be a perfect time.

I thought my car blog entry days would be few and numbered in between since I had left LA but I’m glad Hawaii is proving to be a different type of car mecca for me. I’ve seen some classics here that I haven’t had the chance of seeing in LA.

So let’s talk about the Ferrari 250. Ferrari manufactured the 250 series from 1953 to 1964 and it included a lot of different variants which ended up becoming Ferrari’s most successful early line. It eventually ended up being replaced by the 275 and the 330 which I will talk about another time.

A lot of the 250s had the same wheelbases. The small wheelbase cars would be 2,400mm where the long wheelbase models would be 2,600mm. Most cars not only had the SWB but also the same type of lightweight V12 engine that made the Ferrari much lighter than other competitors which made the Ferrari 250s a car to be reckoned with when it came to racing. These lightweight engines weren’t the fastest engines of their time but for the weight they had a pretty impressive output which has lead the 250 series to many victories in several different racing competitions.

As soon as they debuted this car they were selling like hot cakes as well as being used in races. The combination of low weight + high power  + well-sorted suspension = made this car a winner.

This car is, till this day, still seen as one of the top cars of the 1960s as well as one of the best Ferraris of all time.

I’m just lucky that there are people out there maintaining such classics so that I can enjoy them too.

Maybe I can just wait at Jack in the Box to see if it rolls by again…

A girl can dream can’t she?

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Ferrari 250

  1. Maxxy says:

    I think I’ve just made a mess in my pants. There’s nothing like a beautiful car to brighten up your morning…. 😀

Leave a Reply

