Hong Kong Part 1

Well right before we left for Hong Kong I got The Walking Dead video game for the PS3 and I found it pretty entertaining. It’s less fighting zombies and more making the right decisions so that you’ll live and everyone won’t hate your guts. I finished the first episode and I’m just waiting for the other 4 to come out. Apparently they’ll come out every month so that’ll be good. I’ll have something to play since Mark informed me the other day that the release date for Bioshock 3 has been moved to February from October. Bleh. Not fair!

I tried playing Dead Island again yesterday but I got pwned by the zombies and some 17 year old kid in Chicago. Well he was level 50 and he came and rampaged my level 20 game. Whatever.

Anyways, we got a pretty awesome hotel in Hong Kong.

We had a pretty snazzy restroom and everything too.

There wasn’t really a view but we didn’t mind. Most times we were out and about anyways so it didn’t really matter. And the times we were back at the hotel trying to get out of a freak storm we’d be warm and cozy in our nice bed watching some good ol’ Adventure Time! Hahaha.

There were only like 6 shows on Cartoon Network Asia that were all in rotation. I’m serious. And most of these shows I’ve never even heard of.

1. Adventure Time
2. Gumball
3. Some bug show
4. Chowder
5. Tom & Jerry
6. Camp Lazlo (once)

But when we weren’t watching Adventure Time we’d be watching Wipeout on AXN. Hahaha. It was on every single morning and that’s some priceless stuff right there!

And for those of you who have yet to catch on here’s a clip just to show you how awesome this show is!

New Season starts soon! Mark and I can’t wait!

And I thought I was going to buy a lot of clothes throughout the whole trip but I did most of my splurging on the first day.

I bought a Lebron jersey for less than half the price of a real jersey back home. YES! I kind of wanted more jerseys but I restrained myself. I got some cute stuff though so I’m happy. I took some mini polaroid pictures with the instax mini camera I bought so I have quite a few of those too. Maybe I’ll scan them sometime.

We both had to deal with a little shower here and there but we got to eat good food and see some amazing shit so we didn’t really mind all too much. I wanted to take a picture of the food we ate but I felt like that would just make me very stereotypically Asian that I had to stop myself.

This wouldn’t really be a Hong Kong post if there were no pictures of Hong Kong right? Hahaha.

A lot of the buildings in Hong Kong were beat up and dilapidated but they still looked pretty neat. It looked like that scene in Inception where he goes back to his dream island/world and all the buildings are like falling apart around him.

Kinda like this but less intense. YUP!

And we saw these ADs everywhere! It’s for this jewelry store called TSL but they’d use the same girl and dog for each ad. Sometimes she’d be holding the dog, other times they’d be far apart and every once in a while there would even be another dog.

TSL and Chow Tai Fook’s (another jewelry store) are like the ABC stores of Hong Kong. They are EVERYWHERE! I don’t know how these people make ANY money! I’m going to see if I can find the other ads online somewhere.

I found one where she’s with 4 dogs. Just absolutely ridiculous but so awesome!

And we went to McDonalds and not only are the portions really small but they have different sections to the McDonalds. There’s a drink section which is like for Ice Cream Shakes and Smoothies and stuff and then there was another counter for desserts. Like when I say different section I mean whole different counters and registers just for that one type of thing. It was pretty neat. Again, I was too chicken to take a picture but I’m sure I could find one online.

See theres one side with Hamburgers, and then two other counters on the right hand side where it says “McCafe”. Sometimes the drinks (like coffee and shakes) and dessert counter will be the same but it depends on where you go.

But why I wrote about MickeyD’s is because I took this picture (or Mark took a better one actually).

BITEME. FRESH. CLASSIC.

One last thing before I go. When I looked up “Hong Kong McDonalds” on Google I got a “McDonalds Hong Kong Wedding” result instead…

Weird. To each their own.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Hong Kong Part 1

  1. thekevinchen says:

    Those McDonald’s weddings look outstanding. Take more pics next time! Screw stereotypes, you’re travelling.. might as well!

Leave a Reply

