Unique Find: Hawaii

So about a week ago I went to a local Arts and Crafts Festival in Waikiki and it wasn’t QUITE what I thought it would be but I found something pretty interesting that I doubt anyone is going to find anywhere else.

I was pacing in front of the booth wondering if I should jump on a pair or not and I’m glad that I did when I had the chance because I KNOW I would have regretted it otherwise.

These are shorts made out of old rice sacks! And yes they have lining on the inside so I’m not just wearing a sack of rice. They had a bunch of different designs but I HAD to have the ones with the crane on it. It’s just so colorful and vibrant!

They are not only very well made but by including the drawstring tie and the pocket in the back these shorts are actually functional. And surprisingly comfort is not an issue with these shorts like most would think at first glance. And what makes this piece especially unique is that it has the actual brand of rice and the address of the place it was packed for and it is right in the neighborhood of where I am living now, pretty cool huh? They also kept the original stamp that was on the bag notifying buyers of the weight of the rice by turning that into the back pocket sleeve. Simply ingenious!

Does this remind anyone else of that one ‘I Love Lucy’ episode? It was the episode where they were all in France and Ricky played a joke on Lucy by having clothes made out of potato sacks for both Lucy and Ethel. Joke was that a french designer ended up copying the idea and making his own line using potato sacks but by that time Lucy had burned her “original” because she thought she had been made a fool.

They even made a doll out of it.

Not to mention other future designers have been inspired by such fashion trends, whether they made good use of their inspiration or not is up to you.

I’m not saying that I’m going to be a trendsetter or anything like that but I just had to share this neat find with everyone. I love how people are still finding new ways to utilize everyday objects and it’s just amazing!

And I’m pretty sure they were made by the old man who was selling it to me. He had some other pretty cool stuff too…maybe I’ll pick up another pair if I ever see him again.

Now I have something to look forward to…finding unique cultural items that are made on the Island. Sounds like a challenge and I am nothing but excited for my new quest!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Unique Find: Hawaii

  1. thekevinchen says:

    Those are awesome!

Leave a Reply

