Joseph Gordon-Levitt grows up to be…Bruce Willis?

So Mark and I went to go see Moonrise Kingdom yesterday but before I get to that I want to talk about a specific ad that I saw for an upcoming film. As you can tell by the picture above the film that I am talking about is titled, “Looper”. And for those of you who haven’t seen the trailer here it is:

I’ll wait until you finish watching the ad…

[waiting]

Okay. Watched it? Now let me try and get this straight. Stay with me here it might get a little weird.

So. Joseph Gordon Levitt is a “looper” who is kind of like a time traveling, not time traveling assassin. But he has to be somehow in the future too because they have new guns and the ability to time travel. So the mobs in the future send people back in time to Levitt so he can erase them from the future. So instead of teleporting them into a volcano (Mark’s idea) or into a black hole they waste money on someone in the past to kill someone in the future. Hmmmm. And the one rule is to never let anyone get away…even if it’s yourself. But wait…so you’re telling me that when Joseph Gordon-Levitt gets old he turns into…Bruce Willis? Really? Bruce Willis?

Does his jaw line grow thicker as he grows older? Or just his whole head grows a little for every year of his life? Now, don’t get me wrong, Bruce Willis is a very handsome man but who buys that Levitt would actually become Willis as time goes by. His eyebrows just get blonder/lighter and skinnier as time goes on too. That has to be a classic. I think I would’ve picked like Jon Hamm as the aged Levitt.

They look alike don’t you think?

Whoever cast this movie should be shot point blank. Although I guess if you want an “Action Adventure” film that Bruce Willis is your man…but then choose someone who looks like a young Bruce Willis. Ummm… Yeah I don’t know. Probably a young Tom Hanks? Hahaha. No, that wouldn’t work.

I guess we’ll see what kind of reviews the movie gets when it comes out, September 28.

But anyways, I FINALLY got to see Moonrise Kingdom yesterday (because they didn’t want to release it in Hawaii till like mid last week because they’re lame). And guess what? It was AMAZING! I knew I was going to love it and I absolutely did! And then some! I’ve never seen a Wes Anderson movie (besides Fantastic Mr. Fox which was an okay movie) so it was a new experience for me which I really liked. I especially enjoyed the panorama style they used to shoot the movie, it’s very elegant and it flows pretty nicely. The soundtrack for the film was superb as well. Each scene had the appropriate music that made you just believe that you were there with them during their little island adventure. And I think being in Hawaii and watching the movie made me relate to it just a little bit more (with all the isolation from the outside world as well as the wilderness factor that comes into play). It was like a modern Romeo and Juliet mixed with a little Andy Griffith twang to it. Not only was the story and music stellar but the color choices as well as the scenic backgrounds made this movie a masterpiece. Not a single little detail was overlooked but it didn’t have that Jay Leno scripted feel to it but more of a natural uniqueness with play of words and word choice throughout the entire film. If you’ve seen Fantastic Mr. Fox this movie has that same secret element of whimsy mixed with dark humor that is masked by colorful animal masks and time appropriate outfits.

Bill Murray and Bruce Willis also did an amazing job in the movie. But so did everyone in it. There wasn’t a single character or hair out of place.

If you haven’t seen it yet, I strongly recommend making this the one to see this summer. There will be countless superhero movies but another movie like this won’t come along very often.

A good laugh will be had by all, I promise.

And if I didn’t convince you, here’s a little trailer for Moonrise Kingdom:

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Joseph Gordon-Levitt grows up to be…Bruce Willis?

  1. thekevinchen says:

    HAHAHA you took the words right out of my mouth about Looper.

Leave a Reply

