Paranorman : Movie Review

Hearing that Paranorman was by the same people who did Coraline I couldn’t help but want to watch it. Granted the commercials and marketing kind of sucked but I was willing to see it regardless. And I ended up enjoying the movie just as much as I thought I would. It was hard to find someone to go with me though…I was pretty close to just going by myself, which is what I did when I went to see Brave and I’m so glad I did. I loved that movie too! I guess I’ve been on a children’s movie kick? Actually, no not really. Most of them are still pretty stupid and slow. But LAIKA hasn’t disappointed me yet so I was sold as soon as I heard about it.


Paranorman Trailer HD

I’m a little picky when it comes to animation style but since I absolutely adored the work behind Coraline I knew that the same time and effort would be seen in Paranorman. For those of you who haven’t seen the “Behind the Scenes” for the making of Coraline, I strongly recommend it. Anyone who has the talent, skill and patience to make a claymation, my hats go off to you.

Here’s a little piece of the making of Coraline. Just absolutely stunning!

And for those of you who are iffy about going because it is a “kids” movie, you shouldn’t feel that way. A lot of the people watching were grown adults and at some parts I questioned if this movie was ACTUALLY for kids, like I did with Coraline. That movie was scary. For real. Animation, story, music and dialogue are ON POINT.

And for someone who believes in ghosts it was a little comforting, to be honest. And for those of you who don’t, I am not trying to push anything on you. All I’m saying is that it is easier to enjoy a movie when there is a relatable factor between the film and the viewer.

I’ve given my 2 cents here I just hope you guys will go check it out. Cheers.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

