Throwback Jerseys

nuggets_uniform_jlnuggets_uniformJL

I don’t know about everyone else but I am NOT a fan of the new Denver Nuggets throwback jerseys.

It screams a little too 80’s for me. I mean they DID just bring back the jersey in just another more vibrant color. Here is the 1985 version.

DenverNuggets-CarmeloAnthony-RoyalBlue1985-1993

There have been white ones, blue ones, purple ones, black ones and now they’re just in yellow.

And here are the Nike Air Force III’s that go with the jersey. (Released back in 2008).

nike-air-force-iii-denver-nuggets-house-of-hoops-1

Yes, they were designed with the Denver Nuggets throwback jersey in mind. Somehow I don’t think I could walk down the street without feeling absolutely self conscious and stupid with these shoes on but to each their own.

The use of multiple blue tones in combination with the stripe combinations down the shorts makes it look quite a bit awkward.

And when you add the matching shoes it just makes them look like huge crayons running down the court. They’d be a combination of McDonald’s puke yellow and Periwinkle fever.

All the jerseys that have been coming out this year have been horrendous. And it’s not just the Denver Nuggets but teams such as the OKC Thunder and the Charlotte Bobcats have had similar design malfunctions.

What was wrong with the old simple Nuggets jersey?

And I don’t really care for the ABA Hardwood Jerseys either…

denver-nuggets-3-ty-lawson-retro-white-nba-jersey (1)

Looks like a design mix between a baseball uniform and a hockey jersey. It’s pretty funny that they put a pick with a gold nugget on there.

Why the numbers are different colors and what that blue background that looks like a space orbit is doing behind the pick and the logo, I have no idea.

I have enough rainbow going on with my own school colors, I don’t think I want it on an official NBA jersey… but I guess I got lucky not to have the Nuggets as my home team. I’d look like a big rainbow bumblebee walking around the streets with THIS jersey on.

I hear the Magic School bus is always looking to hire.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Throwback Jerseys

  1. philmondeau says:

    I dunno, I like the logo design of the retro cityscape with the rainbow colors way the hell better than the baby blue and yellow. And there are plenty of killer jerseys, take Brooklyn New York or Boston Celtics. Clean, Classy and Classic.

    • Yeah, a lot of people like the retro jerseys but I’m just not one of those people. I think I might like it better if it weren’t rainbow but just yellow and blue. And I do like those jerseys too. I was talking about the new ones that have been coming out this year. Like the “spur” on the Spurs jersey and the “Cat” on the Bobcats jersey. Just seems a little too YMCA for me.

Leave a Reply

