You know you’re a Law and Order: Special Victims Unit addict when…

lincoln-movie-poster

You’re watching Lincoln and you recognize one of the actors as having been on an episode of Law & Order: SVU.

Not only that but I could describe EXACTLY what episode he was on and what happened on it.

Who am I talking about?

Joseph Cross

new-Cross-John-Hay_610

And the sad thing is that I haven’t seen him in ANYTHING else, JUST SVU.

It’s the episode where the father dies so the mother becomes all OCD protective of her kids, homeschooling them and only feeding them nutritious things even though they should be out socializing and living like kids. The younger son ends up being killed by the older son (Joseph Cross) in order to spare him from the foster care system but the gun jams when he tries to kill himself. His mother has filled both of them with the horrible lies about the outside world. They eventual end up running away but being caught later by Benson and Stabler.

He plays the roll of John Hay from Illinois.

And for those of you who haven’t seen the film yet. It is AMAZING!

Both Daniel Day-Lewis and Tommy Lee Jones did an AMAZING job bringing the Lincoln story to life!

It’s like I LIVED through the Civil War while I was watching the film. Every actor and actress in the film was just magnificent!

Except maybe Joseph Gordon-Levitt…he had maybe 5 lines in the movie? Kind of didn’t fit? He fits more in the future (Inception & Looper) rather than Civil War times in my opinion. Just saying.

*SLIGHT SPOILER*

jgl-lincoln

BUT you do get to see Daniel Day-Lewis give a good slap to his son (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) in one scene. It wouldn’t be a Daniel Day-Lewis movie without it! It was amazing! TOTALLY made my day.

I couldn’t find a clip of it but this video should do for now.

And it really doesn’t matter if you don’t like historical films or not, this is one of those movies you DO NOT want to pass up. It has that same finesse that The King’s Speech has, it entraps you and makes you invested in the film. Even I began to wonder how it would end, even though obviously I knew that the Confederacy would surrender and the 13th Amendment would be passed, still I was on the edge of my seat till the very last second. It was more than just believable, it was as if I was fighting WITH the Union for equality! It really was intense.

It was a good way to spend my Saturday afternoon and I don’t regret it for a second.

I give Lincoln all the thumbs I have up! Go watch it! (And SVU).

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “You know you’re a Law and Order: Special Victims Unit addict when…

  1. motoren says:

    Lincoln for me is one of those films I will ignore for the time being, one has to be in the mood for historical jobbies, preferably with a large plate of chicken biryani ! It was like that pretty much when I got around to watching the Kings Speech a year after it was released!.
    Glad you enjoyed it:)

Leave a Reply

