I’m sorry Dave, I’m afraid I can’t do that

We were supposed to watch 2001: A Space Odyssey so we could discuss it in class today and I really enjoyed the movie.

I know it came out in 1968 and is listed as one of those MUST SEE movies but I had never gotten around to it till yesterday.

A shame, I know.

But I’m glad I was finally able to watch it.

It’s just funny to think that I’ve seen so many parodies and spoofs of the HAL 9000 without even knowing what it was referencing back to.

And of course I had to share the classic scene where HAL is being deactivated which represents not only his regression back to a state of childhood or otherwise primitive state but also the “murder” that Dave is committing which reflects the “Dawn of Man” scene where one ape is seen murdering another in order to gain control of the watering hole. When HAL begins to sing Daisy it shows a different side to him, one that isn’t completely emotionless when speaking, he is taken back to a simple entity.

But I couldn’t end this without posting some of my favorite parodies of HAL.

When Bender falls in love with the ship:

treehouseofhorror12_07

I can’t find the Ultrahouse 3000 Simpsons clip on Youtube so I guess a picture of it will have to do.

But before I go, one more thing.

images (3)

So my teacher stopped the film at this point and asked everyone what they thought that this exact moment with the monolith meant.

Of course there are a million different explanations that people will explore but the most common would be that this not only signifies the “dawn” of man because of the sun seeming to appear from one side of the monolith, but also the path that the apes will take to become human and then eventually travel to the next frontier which is the moon. Where, of course, there will be yet another monolith to guide the next step of the journey of man.

But all this aside, this old lady that we have in our class always tends to give answers that are either: a) irrelevant, b) far from the point, or c) blatantly obvious, and today was no different.

When the teacher stopped the film at this point she says that only someone with the same immense knowledge of religion would be able to decipher that this exact moment is not only the 3rd day in Genesis but also connected to the ideas of the Cold War.

Needless to say, we all couldn’t help but burst out laughing. At least she didn’t cry in class today. That’s some sort of a win right?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I’m sorry Dave, I’m afraid I can’t do that

  1. motoren says:

    I’ve just picked up a fault in the AE35 unit. It’s going to go 100% failure in 72 hours….LOL….Its a pretty mind bending SciFi Symphony this one 🙂 Nice write up!

  2. […] I’m sorry Dave, I’m afraid I can’t do that – Watching 2001: A Space Odyssey for the first time and finally getting all the references.  Don’t forget the Dawn of Man thing at the beginning of “Lisa’s Pony”. […]

Leave a Reply

